ADHD

My ADHD Truth: Sounds

I’m  having a tough couple of weeks at work. Stress levels are high, and I’m becoming even more neurotic around the house in order to control what I can.

Trying to write now, the sound of the running water in the aquarium is distracting. So is the bathroom fan. There aren’t any pets scrumping in the cat box, or crumpling paper bags, or meowing or barking, but during the day there frequently are. My point: everything I hear takes priority in my brain. Nothing fades into the distance unless I’m REALLY into something. And a cat just knocked something over, yay. Having ADHD makes it really hard to concentrate since our brains can’t distinguish between important sounds and sounds that really should be background.

I’m going to quit now and find something I really want to listen to; then maybe I won’t have to hear anything else.

Leave a Reply

