ADHD

My ADHD Truth: Forgetful Equals Flooding

We’re relocating our fish tanks, because corals are so much more interesting to me than freshwater fish, but first the current residents had to vacate.  So we our donated our freshwater fish to a local aquarium store, siphoned all the water out (mmm, fishwater on the lips), and made a huge mess (and had a tantrum) removing the rocks.

We carried the heavy tank down the stairs (I say we but it was mostly my partner by herself, who was being macho), then the stand. Then we started making RODI water with our fancy new filter.

0418171400_HDR-2 (1)

Here’s the big tank, already half-full.

One workday, I wanted to make filtered water as well as work. I was super motivated- I probably had gotten enough sleep the night before. Amazingly restorative, sleep. So I turned on the water in the basement and went back upstairs to my office.

You know where this is going, don’t you?

Luckily, my mom came over about 30 minutes later and I remembered the water before the jug of filtered water was completely full. I was putting the “dirty” water into the washer to use in a cold water load, and the washer was only partly full, too. Phew!

Then my mom and daughter left, I started filtering another jug, and I went upstairs again. Sillily, I utilitzed neither timer nor note, and this time I remembered AFTER the 5 gallon jug was full, about an hour later. I raced down into the basement, eyes wide, heart pumping, sure I was going to be splashing through inches of water as I approached the laundry corner. But lo! The jug was overflowing into the sink (as expected)… and the washer? I could hear water still running even after I shut off the tap, and the floor was wet. I watched and waited, holding my breath, but no puddle appeared. Miraculously, someone had designed the washer to overflow out the hose in the back! I was saved!

That washer had more water in it than any I’ve ever seen. I had to bail some out before I could start a load, or I think it would’ve splashed all over even with the lid on.

If you’ve ever wondered how full you can fill a washing machine, see below. The ball is for perspective (not for fun, sorry). I did make enough water for the tank that day, although I stopped filtering after that.

0418171401_HDR-2 (1)

Have you done something like this before? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

