ADHD

My ADHD Truth: Decluttering My Daughter’s Bedroom

Two weeks ago, I started de-cluttering my daughter’s room.  It was time –  it had been several months since I had cleaned it, and at least a year since I had tried to organize it,  and with the constant influx of new stuff  it was becoming  hazardous.

Between podcasts from A Slob Comes Clean, a blog by a woman who struggles with organization and clutter, and pins that promised me a brilliantly organized house in only 10 minutes a day, I decided to go for it. (Concurrent with decluttering my workroom, as you saw a few days ago.)

Taking before pictures of a room that is absolutely wrecked never works out. It just looks like a picture of stuff. I’ve done it enough times to learn this, plus I just wanted to get started, so I have no before pictures. At 10pm Friday I started throwing everything into boxes and moving her very heavy loft bed across the room. After a few curses at physics and my lack of planning, I got the bed turned 90 degrees. The next day, I continued by getting as much out of the room as I could, wiping down the baseboards, vacuuming and cleaning the filth. Over the next week or so, she and I went through all of her toys and she chose what things she would like to keep. In the past, she had always been very stubborn about not wanting to get rid of things, but for some reason this time she wasn’t. I had several plastic bins of toys and stuffed animals, and I told her to take out what she wanted. From my own experience, I find this is much more effective than taking out things you want to get rid of. We ended up with several boxes of toys and assorted stuff that she was willing to give up. We’re book lovers so she had a lot of books to give away, too.

Here’s the pile I’ve left to get rid of:

This doesn’t show the small box of things to sell, or another couple of boxes that I haven’t gone through yet for myself. Now… I’m sort of stuck. I’ve done the parts of the her bedroom that I know how to do; I’ve recognized and organized the obvious pieces; now there are just uncategorizable geegaws and special ephemera. I still need to go through the giveaways and make my emotional peace with them so I don’t regret getting rid of them later. What would you do at this point? How do you organize / purge your children’s or your own bedroom?
If you’re interested in the podcast I listen to for tips and inspiration,  the link is below.  I like Noni because she is brutally honest, and  she doesn’t come across as an unattainable supermom. I relate to her struggles with stuff.

Http://www.aslobcomesclean.com/2013/12/how-to-declutter-a-childs-room/

Leave a Reply

